Author Topic: statue identification help  (Read 994 times)

Offline MJAM

• View Profile
statue identification help
« on: March 12, 2019, 04:13:26 pm »
Hi, I am new to Buddhism and found this at a thrift store. I was drawn to it but I have no idea who it is a depiction of.

https://static.wixstatic.com/media/c98b36_2c7c241d91494756b9ca869e2aed37e0~mv2_d_3311_1452_s_2.jpg

Offline paracelsus

• View Profile
Re: statue identification help
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2019, 06:01:56 pm »
Hello MJAM,

I'm not certain but your statue looks like a Chinese figure of Kuan Yin (in Tibet Avalokitesvara, in Japan Kannon) female buddhist deity embodying compassion, playing a Pipa, or lute. In China these were traditionally held vertically according to THE WEB. Also her fabric has Chinese style motifs, and her head dress is typical of Kuan Yin figures. I have a couple of them without the lute but with the same high crown, hair done up on top with a cloth covering. Look up Kuan Yin images on the web.

Possibly. I hope this helps.

Offline MJAM

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2019, 04:16:27 am »
Thank you so much. I was leaning that way myself, it is nice to have a bit of confirmation.

Offline Ai Le

• View Profile
    • Samsarictravelling Blog
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2019, 05:06:50 pm »
This is samsarictravelling from 'Dhamma Wheel' message board. I just read in your post here at FreeSangha message board that you bought this item at a thrift store. Okay.

From my little knowledge of the iconography (details) of Kuan Yin/Avalokitesvara depictions, I think this Bodhisattva has the Buddha on the top of their head. The statue you show does not have a Buddha on her head. Maybe Kuan Yin might sometimes not have a Buddha on the top of her head, but maybe Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva lots of the time has the Buddha on the top of their head (in images and statues)??? I don't know. Just an opinion, be it true or untrue.