Author Topic: Is a Teacher Really Necessary?  (Read 23498 times)

Offline Rune

• View Profile
Re: Is a Teacher Really Necessary?
« Reply #165 on: November 02, 2016, 12:47:49 pm »
Thank you, zafronzen (I really like your name), I have some experience in chanting, for many hours in a row, after I was involved in the "hara krishna" cult.

I guess I will just follow your advice, im usualy pretty good at keeping a good diceplin, when it come to devoting myself on to spiritual matters.

Thank you again.

:namaste:
"Forget "professional counseling." This calls for an exorcist!" - zafrogzen

Offline Deemoid

• View Profile
« Reply #166 on: November 12, 2016, 05:33:40 am »
Gregkavarnos says it best in this thread - however for good measure I thought I would paste a link to a video which deals with this preceise question . . . . I hope some people find it useful and inspiring . . . .  :fu:

https://youtu.be/BDcUj8nhCqo

Offline zafrogzen

• I've been practicing and studying meditation since
    • View Profile
    • zafrogzen
« Reply #167 on: November 28, 2016, 03:07:36 pm »
What happened to "humility?" Cocaine and speed have the effect of inflating the ego with an illusory sense of power and elation, but it goes to the opposite extreme of self-hatred and depression when it wears off, which is why it is so addictive.

Even without an artificial stimulant, the ego can go through the same ups and downs naturally. Like coke, the ego is addictive but never really satisfactory.

Transcendent, peak experiences come about naturally through meditation, but it is futile to try to grasp them and attach them to an ego. IMHO, equanimity, or evenness of mind, is only achieved when the ego is transcended through meditative stability -- usually achieved only after years of practice and discipline. It's great if you are able to do it so easily -- but I'm naturally skeptical.