Author Topic: Hello!  (Read 332 times)

Offline Camouri

• View Profile
Hello!
« on: July 26, 2017, 06:01:54 pm »
Hi, I'm new to Buddhism. I'm not sure what type I am or any knowledge. I have a couple of books but it seems there's many types. I've read about I think the three gems and 5 truths and precepts. I had questions about if my altar/ shrine was incorrect and also about tattoos. Thank you in advanced for reading my post and have a lovely day. I cannot wait to learn more in case I am doing anything disrespectful within meditation or prayers. have a lovely evening

Sent from my HTC Desire 610 using Tapatalk

Offline The Artis Magistra

• View Profile
Re: Hello!
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2017, 06:16:26 pm »
There are only two types. Nice ones and mean ones. You will meet both on this website, but most on this website seem to hesitate even to call themselves Buddhists and promote modern secular Atheistic Western Science Imitating Militant Atheist Buddhism, a mostly Western Invention. Besides that there are the Theravada and Mahayana Buddhists, a sub group of the Mahayana are the Esoteric or Vajrayana and Tantric Buddhists. Mahayana is the Ancient Majority and Theravada are more into the Pali Canon of old scriptures and writings considered the recorded words and deeds of Siddhartha Gautama. The Western Atheist Buddhists like to pretend Theravada Buddhists are not at all really superstitious, in their hope that they can pretend that Ancient Buddhism was somehow identical to modern Western Atheistic Science and denies all spiritualism or superstitions somehow.

Offline Camouri

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2017, 06:40:42 pm »