Author Topic: New to Buddhism  (Read 461 times)

Offline Xavier7155

• View Profile
New to Buddhism
« on: July 23, 2016, 02:23:40 pm »
Hello,
I am a 26 year old teacher who lives in the United States. I grew up in a southern baptist style home. Every Sunday in church the pastor would run up and down the aisles shouting, screaming and turning red. He spoke of eternal damnation if we did not follow the Bible. Growing up and even in college I often felt "dirty" or "bad" because I was doing things and believing in things that contradicted what I had been told my entire life. Shortly after getting married I decided that I was tired of living a life where I feared death and damnation due to my "sins" on Earth. I felt like the church I grew up in and the religion I knew promoted hate and small mindedness. While the majority of the people were nice people, the beliefs and some of the stuff that was said did not sit right with me.

About a year ago I began looking into different religions and philosophical belief systems. Through my research I came to the conclusion that Buddhism was something that I was interested and shared many of their same viewpoints. After reading some basic literature on The Eightfold Path, I felt like Buddhism was speaking to me. Recently, I began reading, Buddhism Plain and Simple by Steve Hagen.

I am really interested in learning more about Buddhism. Do any other posters have suggestions on where to look or what books I should read next? Also, I am very interested in joining a Buddhism community or attending meditation center in order to gain a better understanding. Would you suggest waiting before partaking in such endeavors until I understand Buddhism in a deeper manner? Sorry for the long winded intro.

Offline Dianet

• View Profile
Re: New to Buddhism
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2016, 04:40:09 am »
Hello and welcome,